Chairman – Noel Hunter OBE

Chairman of the Consumer Code for Home Builders since July 2010, Noel Hunter OBE, brings unrivalled expertise in consumer protection, gained through a wide variety of organisations. He is a previous Vice Chair of the Council of The Property Ombudsman, non executive director of the Board of the Chartered Trading Standards Institute, and Chairman of a third sector hospice.

Premier Guarantee and LABC New Home Warranty – Gary Devaney

Member of the Code’s Management Board, Gary Devaney is also Group Chairman and Managing Director of Premier Guarantee.


NHBC – Ian Davis, Operations Director

Member of the Code’s Management Board, Ian Davis is Operations Director of NHBC. He is a Chartered Civil Engineer, a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers and holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration. He has held roles with consultants and contractors and as the Chief Executive of a construction industry trade association.

Chairman of the Advisory Forum – Mike Freshney

Mike Freshney is Chairman of the Code Advisory Forum. He has wide experience in the new Home Building Industry with particular emphasis on Building Regulation, Standards, and Customer Service.

He is currently Vice Chairman of Westerman Homes, Chairman Emeritus of Robust Details Ltd, Vice President of the European Home Builders Federation, and Director of Habitat for Humanity UK. He is a past Director of CALA Group, Berkeley Group, Crest Nicholson and the Home Builders Federation, and past Chair of NHBC Building Control Services Ltd.


Homes for Scotland – Nicola Barclay

Nicola Barclay is Chief Executive for Homes for Scotland. Her career spans over 20 years in the home building industry and stretching over sales, land acquisition, funding and planning. Nicola currently sits on the Scottish Government’s Joint Housing Policy and Delivery Group, and chairs their Home and Place sub-group. She also sits on the Government’s Financial Innovation Advisory Group, as well as representing the industry on the CITB Scotland Committee, the NHBC Scottish Committee, and the Consumer Code Board.

Citizens Advice – Frances Harrison

A Member of the Management Board, Frances Harrison is Chair of Brighton and Hove Citizens Advice Bureau. Frances has a wealth of consumer protection experience and serves as a member of a number of consumer facing organisations.

How does The Code work for me?
Who's supporting The Code